L E   F I F A
L E   F I F A

Tribute Award

BLEU

Le FIFA is proud to have its founder, René Rozon, receive its first Tribute Award.

For its 40th edition, the International Festival of Films on Art (Le FIFA) is inaugurating a Tribute Award to celebrate the importance of creators, promoters, and partners from Canada and abroad, who are committed to the influence and appreciation of art films and films on art. 

Word From the Awardee

René Rozon

I am extremely honoured by the tribute that is being paid to me today. I would like to thank Le FIFA for thinking of me to be the first recipient of this honour, which will be awarded on an annual basis. As founder of the festival, which I also headed for 34 years, I am particularly moved by this recognition. Above all, I am delighted that Le FIFA has continued its admirable career, today celebrating its 40th anniversary. I’m very impressed by the courage and tenacity of its director, Philippe del Drago, and its team, who have been able, despite the pandemic, through thick and thin, to keep the festival afloat. And I am happy to see that the torch burns as brightly as ever. Reassured that the future of this exceptional cultural event is in good hands, my wish for Le FIFA is to maintain its prestigious status and present audiences with the best films on art in the world. Long live Le FIFA!”

René Rozon, C.M., C.Q.
Consultant and curator Films on Art
Founder of the International Festival of Films on Art (Le FIFA)


About René Rozon

René Rozon has degrees in political science from the University of Ottawa and in history of art, as well as cinematographic art, from the Université de Montréal.

He filled various positions at the Secretary of State (today Canadian Heritage), notably as a Research Associate analyzing applications for financial assistance from governmental agencies such as the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation and the National Film Board of Canada, and preparation of a memorandum on the record industry in Canada, with the collaboration of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission. He also worked in the exhibition touring department of the National Gallery of Canada.

A film studies professor at the University of Ottawa, McGill University, the Université du Québec à Montréal, and Marianopolis College, he also was the programmer of films on art for, among others, the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts for over a decade. He was Associate Editor in Chief at the magazine Vie des Arts for fifteen years. An art and film critic, he has published over 100 articles on a variety of art disciplines.

He is the author of Le Répertoire des documents audio-visuels sur l’art et les artistes québécois, published by the Ministère des Affaires culturelles and the Ministère des communications, and of Beaux-arts et animation for the French Program Animation Studio at the National Film Board.

In 1981, Rozon founded the International Festival of Films on Art (Le FIFA) in Montréal, of which he was Executive and Artistic Director for 34 years. He has given numerous lectures and participated in many international colloquia concerning art and audiovisual media, including in Ottawa, Halifax, Québec City, Vancouver, Cologne, New York, Paris, and Venice. He has served on juries at international film festivals and was a Consultant for the Program for Art on Film Art, operated under the aegis of the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Getty Foundation, in New York, responsible for evaluating international production of films on art and compiling a world directory of films and videos on art.

Rozon is a member of the International Association of Art Critics (AICA), of which he has been vice-president of the Canadian section, and of the International Council of Museums and one of its sections, the International Committee for Audiovisual and New Technologies of Image and Sound. He is Emeritus Executive and Artistic Director of Le FIFA, a member of the Order of Canada, and a Chevalier of the Ordre du Québec.

L E   F I F A
L E   F I F A

Prix hommage

BLEU

Le FIFA est fier de remettre son premier Prix Hommage à son fondateur René Rozon.

Pour sa 40e édition, le Festival International du Film sur l’Art inaugure un Prix hommage en vue de souligner le mérite de créateur·rice·s, de diffuseur·se·s, de partenaires d’ici et d’ailleurs, qui s’engagent au rayonnement et à l’appréciation du film d’art et du film sur l’art.

Mot du récipiendaire

René Rozon

« Je suis très honoré de l’hommage qui m’est rendu aujourd’hui. Je tiens à remercier le FIFA d’avoir pensé à moi comme premier récipiendaire de cette distinction, appelée à être décernée sur une base annuelle. En tant que fondateur de ce festival, dont j’ai été à la barre pendant 34 ans, je suis particulièrement ému de cette reconnaissance. Je me réjouis surtout que le FIFA ait poursuivi son admirable parcours, célébrant aujourd’hui ses 40 années d’existence. Très impressionné par le courage et la ténacité de son directeur, Philippe del Drago, et de son équipe, qui ont su, en dépit de la pandémie, contre vents et marées, maintenir haut la main le festival, je constate avec bonheur que le flambeau brille de tous ses feux. Rassuré que l’avenir de cet événement culturel exceptionnel soit entre bonnes mains, je souhaite au FIFA de maintenir son prestigieux statut, en présentant au public les plus beaux films sur l’art au monde. Longue vie au FIFA ! »

René Rozon, C.M., C.Q.
Consultant et commissaire Films sur l’art
Fondateur du Festival International du Film sur l’Art (Le FIFA)


À propos de René Rozon

René Rozon est diplômé en sciences politiques de l’Université d’Ottawa et en histoire de l’art, ainsi qu’en art cinématographique, de l’Université de Montréal.

Il a rempli plusieurs mandats au Secrétariat d’État (aujourd’hui Patrimoine Canada), notamment comme adjoint de recherche pour étudier les demandes d’aide financière des agences gouvernementales, telles que la Société Radio-Canada et l’Office national du film du Canada, et la préparation d’un mémoire sur l’industrie du disque au Canada, avec la collaboration du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC). Il a également travaillé au service des tournées des expositions du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada.

Professeur de cinéma dans plusieurs institutions, à l’Université d’Ottawa, à l’Université McGill, à l’Université du Québec à Montréal, ainsi qu’au Collège Marianopolis, il a été aussi programmateur de films sur l’art, entre autres pour le Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal pendant une douzaine d’années. Il est entré à la revue Vie des Arts à titre de rédacteur en chef adjoint, poste qu’il a occupé pendant une quinzaine d’années. Critique d’art et de cinéma, il a publié une centaine d’articles sur de nombreuses disciplines artistiques. 

Il est l’auteur du Répertoire des documents audio-visuels sur l’art et les artistes québécois, publié par le Ministère des Affaires culturelles et le Ministère des communications, et Beaux-arts et animation pour le Studio français d’animation de l’Office national du film du Canada.

En 1981, il fondait le Festival International du Film sur l’Art (FIFA) de Montréal, dont il a assumé la direction générale et artistique pendant 34 ans. Il a donné de nombreuses conférences et participé à plusieurs colloques internationaux concernant l’art et l’audiovisuel, entre autres à Ottawa, Halifax, Québec, Vancouver, Cologne, New York, Paris et Venise. Membre de jurys de festivals internationaux de films, il a été expert-conseil pour le Program for Art on Film Art à New York, chargé d’évaluer la production internationale de films sur l’art et de compiler un répertoire mondial de films et de vidéos sur l’art, organisme sous l’égide du Metropolitan Museum of Art et de la Getty Foundation.

Il est membre de l’Association Internationale des Critiques d’Art (AICA), dont il a déjà occupé la vice-présidence, section canadienne, et du Conseil International des Musées (ICOM) et sa section le Conseil International de l’Audiovisuel, des Nouvelles Technologies et des Médias Sociaux (AVICOM). Il est Directeur général et artistique émérite du FIFA, membre de l’Ordre du Canada et Chevalier de l’Ordre du Québec.